Snowmobile Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking for input on what’s happening here? It might be very obvious but I’m a newbie trying to revive life to this old sled.

·
Super Moderator
18,403 Posts
it looks like there has been some attempt to stop the blowback from the manifold to pipe connection but it's not working. Like KC said. Pull the springs and pipe off, clean the connection really well and try the high temp RTV. You may also want to replace the springs that attach the pipe to the manifold, if the springs are weak, that may not allow a good seal.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thank you. And by high temp. you mean on the exhaust manifold, right? It just seemed like an excess amount of oil/fuel coming through. But I will add that the person I bought the machine from mixed the fuel even though the oil injection seems to work.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
it looks like there has been some attempt to stop the blowback from the manifold to pipe connection but it's not working. Like KC said. Pull the springs and pipe off, clean the connection really well and try the high temp RTV. You may also want to replace the springs that attach the pipe to the manifold, if the springs are weak, that may not allow a good seal.
That was my first attempt. One of the loops on the exhaust is broken, so it’s not making a tight seal. From factory was there suppose to be any kind of gasket material between the two?

·
Super Moderator
18,403 Posts
I do not recall any gasket between the manifold and the pipe. There is a gasket between the engine and the manifold, and sometimes those will leak.