Snowmobile Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,559 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. Wondering if I can get a few opinions. Ive finally got at least my sled back together and running. I got an aftermarket pipe over the summer as my stock one was destroyed. Its a big single Aaen fatty with asingle stinger built in completely eliminating the can.

I want to jet it properly and Im wondering if you guys (BC Dan!) know what I should do. They jet sizes for kiehn flatslide carbs go up by 5s. Stock is a 185. I bought 190s 195s and 200s. I test rode it a little today and plugs were light brown a little on the lean side on one half of the electrode. And thats at 41 degrees and raining :dunno:

What do you think I should start with? is a 185 to 190 a big change at all? Im fine with tearing it apart more than once to get it right, but just wondered what you guys thought the first set I put in should be. This is my first time doin jets, on a sled at least. Let me know what ya think! thanks.

Heres a video from when I first got it on.

·
Super Moderator
18,338 Posts
The Keihin jets going up 5 would be a whole step, similar to going up 10 in a Mikuni. Aaen should be able to give you jetting requirements for their pipe, they're very knowledgable and helpful! In the absense of the manufacturer's jetting chart, I would start with the 200's, especially if it gets cold out, and work down. Rich is safe!! When it gets cold again, you will be too lean and take a chance of burning holes in your pistons. It sounds like it's jetted perfect for 41 degrees. but who wants to sled in the rain!

·
Registered
1,559 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It sounds like it's jetted perfect for 41 degrees. but who wants to sled in the rain!