Snowmobile Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
323 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking at buying a 98 polaris. The guy told me that it has the red top U.S. built motor in it that has about 106hp. Is this a good motor or is the guy just making this up so i'll buy it? the sled is a 98 polaris it has the XCR body but has the twin cylinder motor in it. He also said that it came that way from the factory. Any help would be great as i'm new to the polaris sleds.

·
Registered
228 Posts
the xcr body if for an 800 triple i believe. the red top motor is a 98 xc 600 or 700 twin. i know thats not a bad motor, but i'm not sure why it would be switched

·
Registered
323 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
well i found that polaris makes the XCR 600 but thats a triple and this guy said this came this way from the factory but i can't find anything that backs up his story

·
Registered
228 Posts
just an idea can u take the vin number from the body and the vin number from the motor and see what u can match up?? idk exactly how that works, im 16 and dumb lol. i do know though that a xcr is suposed to be a triple, and that a twin us made motor with red heads on it is either a 600 or 700 xc. and i'm almost positive they do not come like that from the factory, that was a motor swap done proly cause he wrecked the old motor.

·
Registered
323 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the help. I'll check the vin # and see what i come up with. He's trying to tell me that it is a racing sled that polaris only made so many of them.

·
Registered
92 Posts