Snowmobile Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I just sold my 98 zl 500 and went with a 2011 F 570.... I love the sled but I ride on ice a lot and without studs... well you can figure it out :p . my track lug height is 1" and it holds 136 studs... I would like some feedback on the best studs to go with (hardest ones) and the length I should go with. It is a dbl ply track to if it makes a diff. Thanks!

·
710 Posts
I suggest Woody's Gold Diggers and you should be able to go longer. I run a 1.325 on a 1" track and this is border line for max length. A 1.175 should work nicely as long as you have tunnel clearance.

·
Registered
867 Posts
I am no studding pro but i can give my 2 cents on my setup.

I have a similar setup on my 03xcsp 600. I have a 1.25" track with the 1.325 studs. (got them as a gift so couldnt argue on size..)

I would go a little bigger as suggested. Heres the thing at this lug height you are almost wasting your time with studs and adding rotational mass really.

Mine does help and yes we do ride alot of low snow ice rivers and lakes out here. Fox river, IL but its more of a tradeoff. Will it help, yes. Is it worth the $350in studs. Prob not. It helped but only on concrete really. With a smaller track you would see a major difference.

Just dont bury the throttle on ice. IF you dont mind giving up some rotational mass for safety than im all for it. Just letting it be known that studding a large lug track gets pointless at some rate.

Also there is a large price difference in nuts and studs once you go over a certain height 1. 1/4 they get pricey fast i found this out. Like a .10 increase they get you for $.40 cents extra for the taller nuts which hurts the wallet at 120+ studs.

But for saftey i get it. I busted a 360 on the river on the old non studded wildcat the other night so u gotta watch it on ice. If you ride more trail forgt them just think about getting speed before you hit water holes.