Snowmobile Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey everyone im new to sleds...ive worked on motocross and atvs all my life but never a sled...i have a suspension ? for ya. i have a 1998 polaris xc 700 with the xtra 10... last winter it felt like i didnt have ANY SUSPENSION... it was hard as rock and when i lifted the back of the sled it gave out about 3 inches of travel...this year i have it a little better where i have about 3 inches of travel when im pushing down on it but when i lift i get another 2 inches...i kno my sled has to have more travel then this..ive heard it has around 9 inches and this thing kills ont eh trails.... its got the long track if that matters...SOMEONE PLZ HELP!! how do i adjust it and what do i need to adjust>??

·
Mountain M0DERAT0R
7,469 Posts
first: welcome to the forums

second: i have the xtra 10 on my sled, and the only rear suspension adjustment ive made is the adjustment of my coilover. i adjusted it so my rear end sat up higher. all i did was take the "wrench" and turned it to what height i wanted. im not sure how much more travel i got, i never measured it. the reason why i did it was to put more force on the front skis for turning.

i also found this for ya:

The XTRA-1 0 rear suspension uses a Ryde FX shock and a Ryde AFX shock and delivers 10.2 inches of travel. The 700 XC's ride benefits from the chaincase location (further back and lower than usual), which gives the sled a low center of gravity, as does the Aggressive seat. Lightweight heat exchangers are located under the tunnel for excellent cooling and act as wear strips for the tunnel; there are no heat exchangers under the running boards. The new track has .91 -inch lugs.

CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFO

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
what about limiter straps and everything? any clue how to get the springs out for replacement? i have never worked on a track system... so i know NO names or parts or anythign lol.

·