Snowmobile Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My grandmother was listening to her fire/police scanner yesterday and told me that where they live a young man was snowmobiling, and was killed after riding into a wire fence. I have heard this situation several times before from other people. Im an EMT and a Fireman, and trust me it is gut wrenching to have to see and deal with that, Especially when it involves my passion of snowmobiles. What im trying to say is: if your riding in fields or unfamiliar land take it easy and keep your eyes open, and just be cautious. I hate hearing these stories and just want everyone to stay safe and enjoy the season.

Happy Riding

·
Sconnie
1,745 Posts
Agreed. I hear those reports every year of people hitting fences, and getting seriously hurt or decapitated.
Scariest thing happened to me last year, I traded sleds with my buddy for a couple minutes, and at one point I look over at him to see him flying straight towards where I knew was a fenceline. Well, he comes over the crest of the hill, sees it 20 yards in front of him, and that was where I lost sight of him. Till I see the sled 50 yards away without a rider.

I gun it over there to find him running to my sled to make sure it was ok. The fence hit him straight in the chest and just pulled him straight off the machine. He was lucky. I didn't give a shite about my sled at that point, I was just glad he still had a head on his shoulders, but it turned out it only busted the windshield. That incident sure scared me though!!

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Absolutly man, snowmobiling is always going to have risks, (being that we ride like nuts sometimes) but the fence thing is a nightmare. Its really bad when riding through farm fields that are new or you are just takinga short cut. It really bums me out, I always think of the sleds as stress reliever not what happens in these stories.

·
Alex
3,385 Posts