Snowmobile Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I work for a very small ski hill and am a diesel mechanic by trade, so I'm not great with small engines. I primarily don't operate the sleds, so getting told what happened when things occur is slim at best.

This started last week when the sled fouled a set of plugs out on the trail. The operator swapped plugs and said the machine ran fine coming back. These sleds tow a 600 drag groomer and are typically ran in the low end. Saturday the sled was taken and brought back for no power. Here begins my adventure. I test rode and noticed it was very slow to rev in neutral and in gear, could barely get the sled to do 15mph and would stall at idle. Pulled in the shop and checked the plugs, both fouled. Did compression test while plugs were out 130psi/135psi pto/mag. New plugs installed, idled better but still slow to rev and no top end. Noticed oil leaking from exhaust after this test run. Checked choke plungers, both moved freely and pulled out smoothly. Checked oil pump and it is right on the mark. Pulled bolt from bottom of crankcase and drained a lot fluid, wasn't able to collect to measure quantity. Removed carb bowls to check needle, cleaned and reassembled. New plugs, test run mile and a half, ran better, won't do above 30mph. Plugs were dry this time, slightest of brown, almost no smoke when idling after run.

I have an identical machine I swapped the carbs off of it this morning. Machine #2 is perfect runner, and still runs great with the sick sleds carbs on it. #1 is still slow to rev but this time I noticed it had a fuel mist coming out from the silencer side of the carb when the throttle is applied. These engines don't have reed valves, and when I spin it over by the recoil, I can watch the piston and connecting rods unobstructed. Pistons feel tight, tops are very black but dry. Just for grins I swapped coils, no change in performance either machine.