Snowmobile Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey Guys,

I'm new to the sledding thing, I originally picked up a 1996 Yamaha Vmax 600 sled to use as an access sled for skiing... but I've gotten hooked on the sledding and am looking to get something a little more fun. I don't want to high mark or set any land speed records, but I want something I can explore the mountains on (I'm mainly in the Revelstoke BC area)

I'm trying to find a sled in the 3000-6000 range but as I look I realize I have no idea what I'm looking for, I've done lots of research on the internet on the various makes and models but I don't know what a good amount of miles/km on a sled is, or what an ideal track length is, or really anything.

Currently I'm looking at a few sleds and wondering if any of them seem like a good place to start:

-2006 skidoo summit rev 800 with 4100 miles on the chassis and 100 miles on a new OEM short block from BRP, replaced all seals and gaskets, brake fluid, coolant, chain case oil, all new motor mounts by a good dealer. (Asking $4200)

- 2010 Ski-Doo Summit X 146 with 3620km (Asking $6200)

- 2005 Ski-Doo Summit 1000 162 with a brand new top end with no hours, but he doesn't know how much use the sled has (he estimated around 60 hours total prior to new top end) (Asking $4200)

- 2008 Ski Doo Summit 800 X 154 with 6000km on body and 1500km on second motor. (asking $6000)

Any advice, or any sled suggestions, would be greatly appreciated.

And if anyone happens to have a sled with an ~$6000 value I also have a 2001 ford explorer sport trac I would like to trade (+ or - some cash) for a decent sled.

Thanks,

Colby

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Its not that I like ski doo, just seems to have the most sleds in the price range I've been hoping for.

I honestly have no personal preference as I haven't ridden anything...