Snowmobile Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

I just blew up my '87 Cougar 500 F/A at 8,500 miles. I'm looking to replace the motor, but having a hard time finding an identical 500 F/A.

Anybody know some other motors (Arctic Cat or other) that would bolt into this chassis easily and get me back on the trails?

Thanks in advance for your help!

·
Registered
80 Posts
A panther motor would bolt up. The only modification you have to make is to drill a new hole in the pan for the exhaust. I think Jag's are the same too.

How much you want for the stator in your motor? lol I need one for my panther

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
A panther motor would bolt up. The only modification you have to make is to drill a new hole in the pan for the exhaust. I think Jag's are the same too.

How much you want for the stator in your motor? lol I need one for my panther
So like a panther 550 would fit? I'm a total newb on this stuff - all of my mechanics skills come from youtube.

I actually have three '86 Cougars. One is a parts sled, one I just blew up and the third is running strong.

I'd kind of like to keep the stator from the one I just blew up, but I could pull off my parts sled for you. Problem is I don't know the history of the parts sled or if the stator is even good.

·
Registered
80 Posts
lol
disconnect the wires that come from the stator (there should be four wires in a coupling) and then take a voltmeter and set it to ohms Ω in the 2000 range and record the readings. Put one needle or clip on the male wire, and then put the other needle on the other female wires one at a time. You should get 3 different readings in total. If you read "1" or "infinity" then that stator is shot.

Where are you located? If your stator is good I can wire you the money and i'll pay for the shipping to get it to me.

I'm located on Manitoulin Island, Ontario, Canada.

·
Registered
80 Posts