Snowmobile Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I am new to the Snowmobile sceen and I got a couple questions. I have a Polaris XLT 580 with I think a First Choice Turbo set up?

The electric fuel pump is not working. What fuel pump is it? Can I just get one from any fuel injected car or would that pump to much fuel?

I am afraid its gonna blow up and I was told it has had head work for lower compression. My compression is 86, 85, and 87psi and its hitting ten pounds of boost. Is that to much boost for this motor? It runs great up untill 3/4 throttle then it boggs but I think thats cause of the fuel pump?

Sorry if this dont make sense now that I am writing this my mind is blank lol! I will try to post up pictures of the turbo kit and fuel pump...

·
Rick
3,070 Posts
for one your compression is way low.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I was thinking one from a Honda or something. I guess what I am looking for is how many gallons per minute the fuel pump needs to be?

What is normal and bad compression for these motors?

I assume its just the stock 580 pipe. After the turbo there is about a 8in muffler. I think its a matter of getting a fuel pump and getting it tuned in better. I did sync the carbs sense I rode it and it seems to rev up better. The Mag carb opened about a 1/8in before the middle started to move...

·
Rick
3,070 Posts
120 psi at least and was there a elec fuel pump on there? that sled stock should have a vacum one. but not sure since the turbo was added. but still that only works off the exhaust so why the elec fuel pump? i guess i just never seen this before. but unless you have injectors and stuff like that all you need is a stock pump for that sled which is like 40 bucks.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 · (Edited)