Snowmobile Forum banner

1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys. Im new to snowmobiling. Just bought my first two sleds.

One of the sleds wont start and I'm having trouble troubleshooting it. I just took the carb off and cleaned it out following this video. I also replaced the battery. When start via the electric start, I get a loud "clank" and then nothing. I think the starter might be gone. If I pull it, the engine turns, but nothing. Any suggestions?

Thanks

·
Super Moderator
17,303 Posts
It takes spark, fuel, and compression for an engine to run. Take 'em one by one to determine which one is your issue.

Do you have spark? If so, dribble a bit of mixed gas (chainsaw fuel works great) down the plug holes and see if it will pop. If it tries to start, it's a fuel issue. If it doesn't, check compression. If you have less than 100 psi compression, it's likely the engine has some issues that won't allow it to start.

That will at least get you pointed down the trail to getting 'em running.

Good luck!

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for your suggestions.

I checked the spark... its there. Not sure how to tell if its producing ENOUGH spark though. Is there a way to measure this?

One thing I noticed that might come into play... If I use the electric start, the starter hits the flywheel often producing a large Clank. But as of this morning, when it hit the flywheel, the flywheel started spinning.... but SLOWLY. It almost seemed caught and made me thing the crank was sticking. BUT, when I use the manual pull start, the flywheel spins ok. Its a bit hard, but it spins. I tried manually starting my other sled (also a 2000 indy 600) and I found the pull to take equal strength.

Does this produce any more thoughts?

·
Super Moderator
17,303 Posts