Snowmobile Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm new to the sledding fun.

I'm currently searching for a pick-up truck to put my 01 summit 600. From the specs, its length is 116inches x 42.3inches. (9.7feet x 3.6feet)

I know there're many option of boxes.

Full size box that's 8'x4' can let my sled fit directly into it. But is that the only choice I have?

Can a 6 feet box with wheel wells width less than the width of my skis fit a sled with some modification?

I know I can remove the whole box itself & make myself a flat deck, but do anyone know how & where I can find information about this?

How about building a sled deck that goes above a 6' or 7' box. How do i build this with the ramp.

Thanks very much. Pictures will be very helpful.

& do I really need a 4x4? or a RWD will work just fine?

This Mazda B2200 is the one that I've been looking at & I can afford right now

·
Registered
482 Posts
I had the Mazda 2600, same as 2200 but just bigger motor.
anyways I had a polaris indy 650 in the back of it.
the ski on one side had to be up on the wheelwell, so what I did was I build a ramp across the wheelwell from the back to the top and then leveled to the front the height of the well.
. .
. .
. .

Kind of like that.
this helped so I didnt have to wrestle the 1 ski everytime I loaded it.
It also helps with not marking or denting the wells.

The only other option is to get a trailer.

Later.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
that's what i wonder too. a picture would really helps. so how far does the back of the sled (track) extend off the bed tail door?

or do you build the sled deck (which goes above the wheel wells) length the same as the sled footprint?

If that is the case, does it mean that the rear window is just a bit higher than the deck level?Would the skis hit the window?

And how do you attack the ramp to the deck & how is the ramp made?