Snowmobile Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I'm new to snowmobiles. I live in a place where its very popular and I have family that ride skidoos, and this year I want to start.
I have a budget of about 3500-4000$ (CAD) and I will mostly do trail. People around me tell me different stuff so I thought it would be a good idea to ask here.
Some of them say I should start with an old Tundra with backward, others tell me an old MXZ (around 2005) in good shape would be good. What I understood from what they told me is that the tundras are slow but very reliable, and the MXZ or anything like that might be too fast for me and would be in bad condition but have better tech. I dont need to go at crazy speeds but being able to follow the others would be nice.
I really dont know what to choose, I dont really want a slow sled without a speedometer but I dont want a sled that will have many problems either. I can't go over 4000$.
I hope someone can help me choose between the two or tell me an alternative.
Have a good day!

· Administrator
19,576 Posts
Your biggest limitation is what is for sale in your area. When you find a potential sled for sale, post up about it and the guys will weigh in on the pros and cons to help you make your decision. We don't have many trail only riders out west, but I do know of a few guys that have Tundras. They are heavy and slow compared to the mountain sleds, but do trails just fine and are known for being reliable. But slow is relative. For a new rider, hitting 90 kpm can be pretty exciting and the Tundras I have seen can do that pretty easily.

Good luck in the search and welcome to the forum!

· Super Moderator
397 Posts