Snowmobile Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there! I'm brand new to the whole snowmobiling scene so saying I'm a novice is a serious understatement. I've never even driven a sled before...

I'm just looking for some general advice. I have a few buddies that ride, some new some experienced but thought I'd see if I can get some information here before I head out for the first time. My Dads friend owns a marine and leisure company and found me a 2009 Ski Doo GSX Sport 500SS. I'm hoping it's a pretty good start for someone completely unexperienced. First off, what's' everyones opinion on that particular machine? Any pros/cons I should know about?

Also, when I jump on for the first time is there anything I should know other than start it up and hit the throttle? Like I said, I've literally never driven one before in my life and would like to have some knowledge before I jump on and ride with these fairly experienced riders. I know that they will help me along the way, I'd just like to go there knowing SOMETHING, lol.

Any and all advice you can throw my way I'd really appreciate it!

·
Registered
612 Posts
Well, welcome aboard friend ! Never driven a sled before...ever?! How old are you ? Experience comes with time & absorbing the good, the bad,& the ugly! How can I say this nicely... respect the power ! What I mean by that is the power can be your friend & it can be your enemy !It'll always be there. Remember your the one in control, not your friends.If you feel uncomfortable trying to keep up to them then slow down to the point that you are,it's not a race! They'll wait for you around the next bend,if there any kind of friends!I say this to you with the utmost respect ,because I've lost some good friends along the way. May they ride where it's always white & fluffy.

Now for the sled It's probably the best sled for you.... you'll like it !
Oh ya ....watch & learn!

·
twins rule!
370 Posts