Snowmobile Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey how's it going, i haven't been on this forum in a long time but im back, i posted here a few years ago about buying a sled but all my plans have changed due to having a kid. i'm looking again to get some sleds and im not that knowledgeable about snowmobiles. i have been riding for like 15 years but i'm just a weekend banger and have never owned a sled pf my own, so im unsure of the up keep on them (my grandpa owns 4 polaris indy trails and i go to his cabin and ride when i can) but im looking to branch out on my own and get my own sleds. for sure i am looking to get a 2 up for my wife and i have two different types of riding: when im with my family and grandpa we trail ride, nothing crazy and i like to open it up every once and awhile but get yelled at for going to fast by everyone else and second i have gone with my friends in the past and with one of my grandpas indy trails and i just couldnt keep up with them, they were also ditch banging and hitting jumps and stuff and i just couldnt do it, but my buddy let me ride his pro x 800 for awhile and i had a frickin Blast!! BUT im not sure how that would work if i was with the family on a slower trail ride and riding up north where they only have 89 or 91 octane fuel. i am ok with buying two sleds for myself for the two different types of riding and would like to stay with polaris, but im not against looking at other manufactures, and would like to stay with used sleds mid 2000's, what are your idea's?

also on a side note what are the advantages to a long track vs a short track and is there really in use for them in wisconsin which is where i live?

hey thanks for your time and i hope this wasnt too long of a post!!

·
Registered
24,890 Posts