Snowmobile Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
took first rip on new sled. All seems to be running good after new track swap and rebuild of rear shocks. However now the real problem is with the idle. After running it and stopping, it will not idle. Slowly loses RPMs to the point where it just dies. Apparently the gas is about 2 yrs. old. I drained it and put in some fresh gas w/ sea foam. This seems to have helped but the problem still exists. Tinkered w/ the idle screws too with not much improvement. Not sure why. Seems to me that it did not have a problem when i was buying it. The guy started it, and it seemed to idle w/o a problem. the sled has a clutch which i think should not matter.....
Any ideas????Thanks in advance.....
stig

·
Registered
20 Posts
Adjust the Tam Screw

I am not an expert on this but I will give this a shot. My half brother Willy had the same problem. All he did was adjust the "tam" screw. It is located under the belly pan near the muff pot. Try this. If not, my other half brother Jeb just ran kerosene in the tank and that seemed to work.

Good luck and let us know what works.

TAM TAM

·
Registered
1,054 Posts
is the sled EFI or Carb?

·
Registered
1,054 Posts
whens the last time the carbs were cleaned and rejetted?

·
Registered
9 Posts
oooh, could be serious Stig. My guess is that you ned a total carb re-build....start by cleaning the carbs and needles and see how that works for ya......if not, take it to a dealer and have'em fix it for ya if your not a "WRENCH" head. I know of a guy who can probably help ya....where are you located?

·
Registered
323 Posts
Yep, I'm sure it's the carbs. Disassemble them clean them very good with carb spray, reassemble and tune them. manual should have tune settings. Idle air setting is sometimes marked on or under hood.

·
Registered
482 Posts
Get yourself some HYDROSEAL at a parts place like napa.