Snowmobile Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, first off....I am totally new to snowmobiling. I just took my first trip up the the UP in Michigan. I used my boyfriends sons sled. I want to buy my own now. I am torn between the Performance 500 XC SP and the Trail Luxury 500 Classic. I don't think I would be considered an aggressive rider. The trails we rode this past weekend had tons of bumps. The machine I was on 500 Indy, I thought, took them kind of hard. Got any suggestions for a nice smooth ride for a female driver?

·
Registered
106 Posts
I own a 500 xc sp and it has killer suspention. It is also way faster than the Trail Lux. Classic. You may not be agressive now, but maybe by the end of the season? I would personally choose the xc sp, but of course I am biased towards it.

·
Registered
183 Posts
I don't want to argue but you would be much happier on the Classic, it's what my wife rides and she just loves it. With reverse and elec. start you'll think you were in a car and they fast enough if you're just getting started in sledding. Often too much power can be deadly. My wife can run at a very nice pace with her sled and has passed many "Male Riders" in her day, so make your mind up and get out there riding! Both sleds would suit you but I would vote twards the Classic. shane

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
How fast will these machines go? They are both pretty close in price range. Dang this is hard! When your spending that kind of money, you want the perfect machine.

·
Registered
76 Posts
Trail vs XC

I own a 99 XCSP500 and love it ( and it was a friends wifes sled , she loved it too, just unable to ride this winter). It is a great sled. Fast, yep! about 95mph , dangerous- nope. I've had my wife and both teen daughters driving it with no problems.

·
Registered
106 Posts