Snowmobile Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm new to sleds. Just got a 1995 (?) Indy Sport 440 air cooled. Under the hood it says to lube the jackshaft. I think I know what the shaft is, just not how to lube it. Any input?

I think it's a '95 because of the 40th anniversary sticker on it.

Thanks,
Chad

·
Premium Member
2,227 Posts
The primary clutch is on the engine, the secondary clutch is the other one and it is mounted to the jackshaft. The bearing grease nipple is behind the secondary clutch. Remove the bolt securing the secondary clutch and slide the clutch out (to the left when sitting on the sled). You will see the grease nipple sticking up on the bearing retainer. While you are in there, put some anti-seize compound on the jack shaft that you just exposed before sliding the clutch back on.

Also grease the track drive shaft bearing just below the secondary clutch. You may see the speedometer cable coming out of the same area.

The other jack shaft and drive shaft bearings (right side) are lubricated by the chaincase oil so make sure the oil level is to spec.

While you have the grease gun loaded with low temp grease, you may as well grease the front and rear suspension to displace any water.

A little prevention goes a long way.

Nice sled! I had a 1987 Indy Sport 340 and on a cold day, it would top out at 75 mph.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks.....

I've been getting all the grease zerks I can find. I will be sure to get those also.

Thanks,
Chad

·
Super Moderator
17,548 Posts
Some of the jackshaft bearings didn't have the zerks. There may be a small hole to insert a grease "needle" instead. If you don't see the zerk, look for the small hole. Either way, it needs some grease for long life.