Snowmobile Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I am new to snowmobiling. I drive a 2001 Polaris Indy 500. We are expected to get 7 inches of snow. This is our first snow fall of the year. Would I go out and be able to ride the trails with that much snow being we don’t have school on that day. Thanks for the help

·
Registered
1995 Polaris XLT Touring
369 Posts
Half a foot and I'd be out for a ride but maybe not going everywhere I would mid winter. I'd be careful about any rough areas like fields or spots you might hit something.
Be careful, go slow when warranted.

Make sure not to ride too long on areas without snow cover as you start heating up the coolant without snow hitting the exchangers.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you, do you know if we have to wait for the trails to be groomed to ride on them. All the trail signs have been up since November.

·
Super Moderator
17,904 Posts
I'm not sure where you are, but here, there are designated snowmobile trails to keep other users from destroying the surface after it's groomed. But sleds can ride them (as can other users such as cross country skiers, snow shoers, dog sleds, even fat tire bikes, groomed or not. And the roads in the National Forest can be ridden whether they are designated or not, but usually are so torn up by 4x4's that you would not want to be on them.

7" is plenty for trail riding, but be aware... some times that 7" melts really quickly and if you head out for a longer trip, you may be looking at no snow coverage on your way back... make sure to check the weather!

·
Registered
1995 Polaris XLT Touring
369 Posts
Our groomed trail systems are maintained by the provincial snowmobile association. The trails are still there and are open to snowmobiles from December to March annually through their lease on the crown land trail system and leased private property.