Snowmobile Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Total beginner to everything snowmobile. Looking to buy a sled to basically be a shuttle for skiing out west. Don’t need any crazy ability to climb/speed, but deep snow would be a factor. Only getting to the bottom of a mountain before walking up, so would need some ability to do minor hills and stuff but nothing crazy. Currently 2 contenders.

First: 1994 Polaris Indy 600 ($550)
  • New spark plugs, practically new belt and unused, new spare belt
  • Runs
-10,177 miles
Photos:
Snow Automotive lighting Automotive tire Motor vehicle Watercraft

Automotive tire Motor vehicle Automotive lighting Bumper Automotive exterior

Automotive tire Motor vehicle Automotive exterior Gas Bumper

Audio equipment Measuring instrument Gadget Gauge Cameras & optics

Vehicle registration plate Automotive tail & brake light Motor vehicle Automotive tire Vehicle
I

Second Sled: Polaris Indy Lite 340 , approximately 1991 ($400)

• Throttle sticks
  • Engine revs when starts
  • 1118 miles
Photos:
Automotive tire Automotive lighting Hood Motor vehicle Bumper

Plant Tree Vehicle Motor vehicle Automotive design

Hood Automotive tire Automotive lighting Motor vehicle Bumper

Car Vehicle Automotive lighting Motor vehicle Tire

Any thoughts/opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

· Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I would avoid the indy lite, that track is a very odd size and is no longer made. Deep snow takes a lot of HP to navigate, you don't have much at all in the 340 engine. It also has a direct drive, no chaincase. So if you were to put a longer rear suspension on it, it would not have enough power to turn it. I had one, with a full size person on it, it did ok on the trails and not ok off. It was a great kids sled or for adults new to sledding that did not vary off the trails.