Snowmobile Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Where are the wheels?
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

My dad just impulse-bought a Yamaha RS Venture 1000cc w/ 500 miles. Now, I need one.

We'll end up doing a lot of open trails, but plenty of playing around as well. I'm more interesting in lofting the skis and jumping it than I am in a big windshield. I am into dirt bikes and race motorcycles in the summer, so I'm going to want the adrenaline rush.

I'd love to be able to 2-up, but the budget is in the $1500 range. Looks like that gets me something sporty, 2000ish, or a dated, big, heavy old touring sled. With those options, I'll deal with a single seater.

So far, I've found the following:

2001 mxz 800 - $1850. 4800 miles, "newer track in great shape with predrilled 96 studs,just serviced by dealer New boots v force #3"
From what I've read about these, they really appeal to me. They seem like fun, high torque, good overall sleds. But... I'm new to this. Thoughts/input?

"Beautifully maintained 2001 Arctic Cat ZR600, 2300 original miles, liquid cooled., equipped with studded track, hand and thumb warmers, cover. Will sell for $1995.00."
This one is also appealing. I'm curious power/weight, and acceleration times for both. I somehow got the impression the MXZ's (even a 600) is decidedly faster than these, but I never found a shootout, just people talking about them differently.

"i have a 2001 polaris xc 800 snow is HERE perfect sled to ride needs nothing . about 3500 miles.. new 1'' 1/4 complast track. new sliders. new clutch spring "rear shocks just rebiult this summer". very good condition for year.... has reverse "not studded" no electic start. runs awsome and "screems". sled has been well maintained
1500.00 obo"
This looks surprisingly dated to me for an 01, with the purple graphics and whatnot. Unsure what to make of the sled, didn't find a lot of in depth stuff about it. Graphics don't matter, I can fix that. Anyone have any input on these things?