Snowmobile Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, so I'm an ATV Mechanic trying to repair a sled, that's the first problem.
While looking for an overheating problem I found combustion gasses entering the cooling system, causing air pocket, resulting in a high engine temp reading on acceleration (at idle the temp is fine). Thermostat tested OK, opening at 135 degrees.
After replacing the head gasket o-rings (yes, one o-ring was broken), I still seem to have the same symptoms.
I have torqued the head to 21 ft. lb's, and bled the cooling system.
Any suggestions would be helpful.

Thank's, Bob.

·
I am Spartacus
23,863 Posts
Temp sensor/sending unit failing? As soon as you stop it says it's cool? Did you get all of the air out of the exchangers?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I'm pretty sure I have all of the air out. I'll be back at it tomorrow. The temp sender appears to be correct, as it does cool off rather quickly after it returns to idle.
I ran out of time on Thursday to perform another combustion gas test, but I'm pretty sure that's what I'll find, head gasket leakage.

I guess that's why I'm inquiring if there's supposed to be a thin coat of high temp case sealer applied to the cylinder in the area of the head gasket/o-ring.

(Just in case anyone tried to click on my website and couldn't make it work, I fixed the address in my profile).

·
I am Spartacus
23,863 Posts
You don't need any kind of sealer on the gaskets. Last thing to check, it's a b*tch...The water pump has a plastic impeller that wears down with age. Go to your year and model and click on engine, rotary valve and water pump. Part number 7 there.

Microfiche

That would be why it overheats at speed, the pump won't push it quick enough. Good luck.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Nice try, but after removing the starter and water pump housing, the impeller looks brand new.