Snowmobile Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a beginner and would like to get a mountain sled for myself and a friend to do sled-skiing with. Is there anything that will reliably take both of us up without too much work for a beginner? The plan is to shuttle eachother up and down and ski down one at a time. Maybe ride up single first to make a track to make it easier.

Would also like something reliable and from what I've been reading it seems the Summit 700 or RMK 700 are considered quite reliable but of course most of this comes down to abuse and maintenance. Would a 700 have enough power to take us both up though? I've heard the 4 stroke yamahas are reliable too but heavy so maybe not a good choice for two-up?

We don't need to get there at record speed or anything so as long as it's something that will eventually get there, it's fine.

Looking to spend max $3500.

Recommendations? Will this plan even work?

·
XTBX (Anthony)
2,061 Posts
I'm no mountain rider, but I do know that there is probably enough room for two people to sit on the machine. However, you'll be hard pressed to be able to stuff all of your skis and gear onto one sled. If you can find a solution to the gear constraints, you should be fine. If powder is present then you probably will get stuck at one point or another, but that's part of the experience and with a buddy with you you'll dig it out and learn over time. Just a suggestion, but it might be worth your time to look into an Arctic Cat Bearcat, Ski-Doo Skandic WT, or Polaris Widetrack, since all of these snowmobiles have 2 seats for true 2-up riding and wide tracks around 20" that are as deep lugged as 2". They are made for true cross-country riding and not aggressive mountain driving (which you won't be doing anyway). They also have alot of storage, both under the seat and on the back. I'm sure others will chime in here, but they could be a good sled for your kind of riding.

·
Registered