Snowmobile Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 1992 Indy RXL 650 that just started giving me clutch issues today.
You can actually watch the primary clutch engage, but immediately after it does - no matter the rpm - it starts "popping" out and immediately back in. It is literally engaging and disengaging continuously throughout the entire RPM range.

I am relatively new to snowmobiles, so I am still trying to understand just how this clutch fully works. Am I looking at a new clutch, or perhaps just a clutch spring?

Any input would be greatly appreciated!

·
Repair Shop Owner
528 Posts
Yea it is sounding like the spring is broke or has gone bad. The spring holds the sheve's open and centrifugal force make the ramps push on the rollers and the spring to close the sheves. You are going to have to take the clutch apart and find out what going on.

·
Registered
121 Posts
Could have siezed weights, bad rollers.

·
'93 Phazer and The Kid
1,145 Posts
Pull off the outer cover and see if the spring comes out in more than one piece.... Rollers and weights should move freely....

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yea it is sounding like the spring is broke or has gone bad. The spring holds the sheve's open and centrifugal force make the ramps push on the rollers and the spring to close the sheves. You are going to have to take the clutch apart and find out what going on.

I'll do that today. Thanks!

·
Registered
608 Posts