Snowmobile Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

More problems already! Although minor I hope.

My 2001 SXR seems to be having either a belt or clutch issue and I want to determine which before I go start spending money. I will probably get a belt anyway but would like some insight into what is happening and if there is a possibility that I can fix it myself.

First understand that I am not a mechanic and I really know very little about the bits of an engine. I know what most parts are and what they do, and how they work, but nothing too specific.

So, the problem

This scared the crud out of me the first time it happened because I thought I had a serious engine problem. Was riding along, then slowed down (almost stopping, no throttle on, was pretty much 'rolling' the tracks) and when I tried to give it some gas again to start moving the engine came up but would not rev up very high and I was not moving at all. I tried letting the throttle down again back to idle and rev again and same thing.

I let go of the throttle and started to open the hood but as soon as I did that the engine noise started to sound more normal. Reved again and was fine. Took off just like it should.

I rode around for about 2 or 3 hours with 0 issues, then again when I was about to quit, was just returning to my access trail I slowed at a stop sign on the trail and the same thing happened. Once again I just let it sit at idle for about 1-3 seconds and it sounded fine and I could move again.

I rode again several times having the exact same issue, as long as I am keeping over 15-20 mph it never happened. Ever. It would only happen from either a dead stop or when I was slowing down to near stop.