Snowmobile Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys I am very new to snowmobiling this is my first sled and it was my second time riding it started first pull I rode about 10 min and then it started bogging down and then completly just died down and stoped, now when I pull it just sputters and pops and backfires then stops, fuel is on, carbs are clean, plugs are new, does anybody have anideas of were to start looking? Any help would be great

·
SD Rider
4,337 Posts
Compression check is in order. Did you let the sled warm up plenty good before you started riding? Always feel your heat exchangers (best way I've found to check if the sled's warm) before you get going. They should be plenty warm to the touch. Once they are, you can start riding but take it easy for a little while. Stop and check em again...they should get pretty hot to the touch. Once they are, take it easy a little bit more and then you can open her up. When I say take it easy I don't mean just putt around at 5 mph, just don't bring it much above half throttle. And once you start riding when the exchangers are warm, the motor warms up plenty fast. You should be able to give her WOT after you go about 2 city blocks or equivalent as long as the exchangers are warm to the touch when you start. Very important on sleds to let them warm up good before you ride.

·
ZR rider
2,064 Posts
x2 on compression. Did you replace the gas before the beginning of the season? Could be moisture in your fuel.

·
ZR rider
2,064 Posts