Snowmobile Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys n gals bit of a newbie here so I apologize if this post rambles a bit!
20200210_142759.jpg

Bought my 97 indy xcr se 600 triple from a buddy of mine about a month ago for $500. He bought it from a guy that runs a small repair shop out of his garage and does alot of drag racing, so he knows his way around these Polaris's..my buddy bought it and ran it one season, and then it sat in storage for 2-3 years untouched. It's got just under 4k miles on it and is in good overall shape for the year! I am having a few small issues with it though..let me start by saying I am not super familiar with carburetor's. I did yank them off and pull the float bowls and sprayed any passages I could get at but wasn't comfortable tearing any further into them and just reassembled them..sled seems to run decent but runs rich and smokes quite a bit, white smoke. I am not positive but i do believe it is jetted and has clutch work done to it(drive clutch spring is red).I have the idle set around 1500-1600 but sometimes when its revved up the rpms will hang for a bit then come down or I will have to blip the choke to get them to drop down, but it's very intermittent not every time. Plugs look brownish and a bit wet after riding but are not fouling?
I guess my main concerns are
A: why is it running so rich
B: why does it smoke so much
Running NGK BPR9ES plugs and klotz oil

For what it's worth I did pull the "drain plugs" out of the bottom of each cylinder and very little of anything came out

Sorry for the rambling and any help for this newbie is very much appreciated!

·
Super Moderator
17,164 Posts
First thing to do is learn to properly disassemble and clean the carbs. Round slide Mikunis are simple and if care is used, you probably won't need any parts to take them apart and put them back together.