Snowmobile Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought the sled this fall. It bogged really bad till it warmed up then it ran great. I finally cleaned carbs, put new plugs in and thought I was good to go. Rode about 30 miles, ran pretty good, had a very slight hesitation, but was making really good power.
After stopping for the day, tried to start and NOTHING. A little sputter on 1st pull, then nothing after that and I bet I pulled it close to 100 times, messing with choke and throttle.
Plugs aren't fouled, and didn't look overly wet but even after cleaning them it wouldn't fire. Have spark on all 3, can watch gas going thru carb lines.

After a few pulls it sprays gas out of the exhaust manifold (has small leak at gasket). One would assume it's flooded, but wouldn't letting it sit and cleaning off plugs let it start?
Or should I really drain crankcase to be sure?

I'm fairly new to 2 strokes, but have worked on plenty of gas/diesel cars/trucks/lawn mowers ect.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Will check comp tonight after work. If it has comp, I guess a little ether may be in order.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Checked compression (with throttle open). Left to right- 85 90 115. No perfect but it should RUN. All 3 plug holes spray a mist of gas when engine is pulled over. Even with some ether it doesn't want to go.

I'm lost

·
Registered
75 Posts
check for crankcase drains not sure if it has them on your model but if so pull the plugs out and see if fuel comes out if so drain all cylinders put plugs back in and then try starting it up the drains should be on exaust side of motor under exhaust

·
ride till your broke
2,560 Posts
he means the crank drain plugs, not the spark plugs.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Pretty sure it doesn't have them. Or I just didn't see them.