Snowmobile Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to snowmobiling. My friend just gave me two Polaris sleds for free. They were sitting for 15 years. I have them both running very well right now. The problem I have is that the primary clutch does not seem to move to grab the belt. Could it just be locked up from sitting? Is there an easy way to fix that. I’ve tried to do some research, and it seems like a lot of people are removing that clutch and either replacing it or rebuilding it. Because of the age of my sleds I’m trying to minimize the amount of money I’m putting into it. Is there an easy way to free up this clutch? Is there something else that might be wrong that I’m over looking. The other sled he gave me is a 1994 Polaris XLT special 580, that has the same problem. Other than this problem the sleds are in great shape for their age and have relatively low miles. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

·
Administrator
18,437 Posts
What RPM is the engine running? Those triples have to spin pretty fast to get the clutch to engage.

Sometimes a good cleaning is necessary, especially if the movable sheave is sticky. First thing I would do is remove the primary and then remove the cover to clean things up as much as possible. There are some good tips in the "how to" section of the forum. Also look on youtube, there are a bunch of videos showing how to remove and clean those as well.

Good luck! And welcome to the forum!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
What RPM is the engine running? Those triples have to spin pretty fast to get the clutch to engage.