Snowmobile Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have recently purchesed 2 snowmobiles 1996 z440 and a 1994 cougar 550.
I was riding the z440 hard (70+) and it started smelling hot so I shut it off and let it cool for a little bit. When i started it up it sounded weird and it sputterd and died. It lost spark in one cylinder and would run for a little bit but would quit. We got to looking at it and the air intake hose to the carborator was loose so I think a number of things could of happened. It could have sucked up snow in to the engine, it could have over heated, or something with the oil, but anyway, it locked up and I don't know what I'll need to do. Please let me know. I will take any comments. Please help me. I want to do it as cheap as possible.

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Sorry haven't had time with the holidays to get it in the garage. When I do get it apart how do I know what happend? I am kind of new to having snowmobiles. We had a 75' cheetah and a 73' panther that we tinkered around with but other than that we have really never had any snowmobiles. I am going to need to know what to replace how to do it and every thing I need. Thanks Guys.:)

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
It's liquid cooled and it was pretty cold that day that's one of the reasons I am stumped. Like I said the air intake hose is very loose so I am leaning more to it got snow sucked into the carb.

·
Premium Member
34,103 Posts
Snow ingestion would not make it smell hot, it would just quit.
Over heating is likely due to either a failed water pump or an air bubble in the system.

·
Premium Member
34,103 Posts
You would have to get the engine running again and check to see if the coolant is circulating. The water pump is gear driven from the center of the crank.