Snowmobile Forum banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, on my snowmobile the suspension seems to be weak when you sit on it it goes down and when you get off doesn't really rebound. I am new to snowmobiling is this normal? Also I am going to be taking the suspension out to replace the spring adjuster block is there anything else that should be replaced? The sled has been sitting for most of its life not being used but has been outside. Any help would be appreciated Thanks.

·
Registered
224 Posts

Your best bet to learn anything is right here in the manuals.

You should be able to set the spring tension with those blocks you need to replace to allow a bit of sag when sitting on it, but enough rebound to not bottom out in the bumps.

If the rear is really not rebounding you may need new springs. Check the front and rear skid shocks too to make sure they're not toast.

·
Super Moderator
17,548 Posts
And while the suspension is out, check all the wheel bearings. It's easy to have one of those freeze up and ruin the wheel. If you have a bad bearing, plan on getting a good set of snap ring plyers, those circlips are a royal pain in the behind. A good set makes easy work of them.

Also, with the suspension out, it's a great time to remove both the cross shafts and clean and examine them. Remove any rust or dead grease and re-grease before reinstalling. That will help the suspension work as well as it can.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Ok, thanks for the info should grease come out somewhere while pumping the zerk or does the grease stay inside?

·
Registered
224 Posts
It'll usually come out the sides of the torque arms where the cross shafts are. Once it starts coming out you're good and greasy!

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Ok, yeah I can't even get grease to go in them I'll have to get new zerks or play around with them. Thanks

·
Registered
1,562 Posts