Snowmobile Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
My 1990 Exciter runs great for 10 minutes or so and then boggs down at lower RPM's or climbing hills after warm up. Runs great at high RPM's. Shut it down for 20 minutes to cool and it runs great again for several minutes. Sometimes when bogging down, if you go easy on the accelorator, you can crawl it into higher RPM's. Once higher RPM's are reached it runs smooth until you slow down and try to start again or try to climb a hill. If you don't let off the accelorator it stalls out. I'm new to the sport so I have been reading all the threads I can for info. Seems like several owners of older Yamaha's have similar problems after warm up. I plan to clean the carbs but I'm not sure why, if dirty, they would only fail after it warms up. Anyone have any suggestions?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Thanks for the help. That sounds like a large job. I read a thread about an 88 Exciter doing the same thing. He said the coils tested fine cold but dropped under specs after warm up. Does that sound right to you? The guy I bought the sled off of swears it never happened to him. The only electrical items I replaced were the plugs, which the prior owner bought so I can't say for certain they were the correct ones. Could that cause this kind of a problem? The plugs look black, not brown, but they don't look fouled. Sorry about all the newbie questions. Thanks again for the help.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·