Snowmobile Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently picked up a free 1989 ski doo formula mx . I drained the gas and replaced with fresh stuff. Took apart the carbs and did a general cleaning of them but now I have have gas running out of the line coming from the side of the carb near the top. I am new to ski doo sleds and how things work on them. I work more on the vintage stuff. Any advice and or diagrams of the carb set up and possible reasons for my issue would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Charlie

·
Vintage Sled Pilot
533 Posts
The tube I believe your speaking of is the vent line. If you have gas running out of them, I would believe that you have a leaking needle and seat (not sealing) or the float in the carb is not floating. I would start there.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the help. Any one have a diagram of the carbs so I now what to look for?
Thanks,
Charlie

·
Vintage Sled Pilot
533 Posts
Here is a Mikuni tuning manual and a cut away diagram at this link http://www.mikunipower.com/Manuals/VM_Manual.pdf I hope this helps... From this guide, I have cleaned and calibrated 8 carbs this year. All of these sleds now idle like gentlemen and scream like .... well, you get my drift. If any of you know how to upload this link to the sticky threads, please do so!:thumbsup:

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Update:
I cleaned and replaced carbs. New fuel line and new fuel pump installed.
Problem:
I prime the motor to get it started than it runs only when I continue to prime it. It also runs almost wide open. When I try the throttle it just bogs the motor down. If left alone, it will run for about 10 seconds and than just die as if someone hit the kill switch.

Thoughts, ideas, suggestions?

Thanks
Charlie

·
Vintage Sled Pilot
533 Posts