Snowmobile Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I picked up an old (I'm 90% sure it's 1980) Arctic cat panther from a friend. It hasn't been run in 11 years and I'm working on fixing it. I got the engine unstuck and am in the process of replacing the belt, when I decided to put some fuel and oil in it and run it. When I poured the oil in it came right out the bottom of the tank. That's when I realized that there is no oil line. Over the years sitting the line has broken into 1 to 3 inch pieces and completely fallen apart. Im new to snowmobiles so I have no idea where to get oil lines. I also don't know what and where the oil lines hook up to. If someone would send me a picture, or a diagram, or explain to me how to hook up the lines, and where I could get replacement lines that would help me a lot.

·
Registered
64 Posts
There is a post about this subject, well at least where to ge the small oil lines, scroll down a few posts. I’ll try and get some good photos of how they are hooked up.

·
Registered
64 Posts
Ok I can’t get some really good photos, so here’s how it goes... the big line at the base of your tank goes down to your oil pump. The small lines go from oil pump to the nipple like structures under your intake. The one closest to your clutch assembly is tricky and harder to find it’s actually located UNDER the oil pump and runs to the small nipple under your intake as stated before. You only have 3 lines to contend with... the smaller ones and the larger one. Grab a piece of the large one and the small ones ( small ones are the same size) and head to your local lawn mower repair shop.. they should have them.hope this helps!

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
That does help a lot but there is one more thing. From what I can see from the fragments of the old lines, there was a line going to the oil level gauge, is there anything I should know about that?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #8