06 F5 Speedometer Problems - Snowmobile Forum: Your #1 Snowmobile Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-23-2012, 11:49 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
06 F5 Speedometer Problems

I recentley purchased a 2006 F5 with about 600 miles on it (Well I think there are only that many miles on it,) and I really havent ridden it that much this year but for some reason the odometer doesn't change, and the speedometer doesnt work either. The only thing that shows is the RPM. I am not that familiar with Arctic Cat's so I'm wondering if anyone else has had a problem like this with their sled, and what you could recommend to fix it. I bought a service manual and can't seem to find anything that would help me troubleshoot the problem. Any input would be great, that way if I take it to someone to have it looked at they wont try and screw me over. Thanks!!
firecatderek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-23-2012, 12:29 PM
travis
 
Indy92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: northern mn
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Speedo cable or junction box on the end of the driveshaft is broke
Indy92 is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-23-2012, 12:36 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
someone said something about maybe the cluster might be shot?
firecatderek is offline  
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-23-2012, 01:31 PM
Registered User
 
Old Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dinorwic Lake, Ontario
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
From a look at the micro fiche, it appears that the speedometer isn't a mechanical drive, but electrical. The fault could be with either the Tach/Speedo Cluster, the sensor/sending unit for the speedo, or it could be a wiring issue in the main harness.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	23.jpg
Views:	559
Size:	64.0 KB
ID:	18372  
Old Man is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-23-2012, 01:40 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Man View Post
From a look at the micro fiche, it appears that the speedometer isn't a mechanical drive, but electrical. The fault could be with either the Tach/Speedo Cluster, the sensor/sending unit for the speedo, or it could be a wiring issue in the main harness.
Is there a way that I can try and troubleshoot this on my own, or is best to take it to a shop and have them deal with it? I just dont want to screw things up worse.
firecatderek is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-23-2012, 01:48 PM
Registered User
 
Old Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dinorwic Lake, Ontario
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
With out a wiring diagram or specs on the electrical outputs, it would be hard to trouble shoot. A person could try to substitute a new speedo/tach unit to eliminate that as the problem, but unfortunately the policy with most electrical parts is "No Returns". You buy it and don't need it, you are stuck with it. I'm guessing that that Speedo/Tach wouldn't be cheap. Maybe some else here can offer better advice. I'm no electrical wiz.
Old Man is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-23-2012, 01:56 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Man View Post
With out a wiring diagram or specs on the electrical outputs, it would be hard to trouble shoot. A person could try to substitute a new speedo/tach unit to eliminate that as the problem, but unfortunately the policy with most electrical parts is "No Returns". You buy it and don't need it, you are stuck with it. I'm guessing that that Speedo/Tach wouldn't be cheap. Maybe some else here can offer better advice. I'm no electrical wiz.
I appreciate your input. I guess I'll just have to look into alittle more.
firecatderek is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-23-2012, 02:20 PM
King of the Universe
 
IndianRvrShiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Rochester Hizzle, MI
Posts: 6,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Electronic speedo sending unit is located on the end of the drive shaft on the LHS. Check to make sure 2ndary clutch hasn't nicked the wiring bundle in that area.

********************
2003 AC F5 (Jr's Dec 07 SOTM & 2008 SOTY)
2003 AC F7 EFI SP (April 06 SOTM)
********************


"It's a public access forum, you post stupidity, expect to get flamed." - RJ Gleason
IndianRvrShiver is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Snowmobile Forum: Your #1 Snowmobile Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome