Snowmobile Forum banner

Which sled for a bad back?

9K views 17 replies 13 participants last post by  KCCats2 
#1 ·
Greetings everyone! I've never owned a sled, but looked at them seriously in the mid 90's. I'm now seriously considering it again. However, I'm worried about my back. I have a herniated lumbar disc, which lets me know it's there from time to time, but I can do lots of things as long as I'm careful. I wear a back brace if I plan on repetitive heavy lifting. I ride a motorbike in the summer, and would like to have something equally fun for the winter. I have 2 young kids and (only :)) 1 wife. I know my 10 year old son would be thrilled to ride a sled. My wife is eqivocal, but is willing to give it a try. So after this somewhat long winded introduction, which type of sled should I look at? The choices now available are bewildering! I prefer 2 stroke engines for outdoor machinery, and would be riding mostly trails and some fresh powder. We don't get as much snow here on the prairies as in mountainous regions.

What are the differences between trail and crossover models? Which have the softest ride? Does type of track influence ride? Is there any particular chassis or specific model that has the softest ride? Should I start with a two up machine, or get a solo model? I don't think my wife would want one of her own, but would mostly be a passenger.

I'm not planning on racing, or spending a whole day ditch banging. My closest dealer is Polaris, but all 4 models are within a 45 minute drive. I'm happy to try used at first. Any good used models for what I'm looking for?

Any opinions/experiences are much appreciated.

See less See more
#2 ·